Buffalo Broadcasters Association Honors Student Achievement in Media

Joana Leamon, a media production major at Buffalo State College, received the Tim Russert Media Career Award at the 2021 Buffalo Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame ceremony on November 4.

Leamon stood out for her videography, editing and commitment to her career path.

“Joana is an A-Level Honors student at Buffalo State and a regular on the Dean’s List. She is active in BSC-TV and WBNY, the campus television club and radio station, ”said Annemarie Franczyk, associate professor of journalism at SUNY Buffalo State College in her remarks at the Hall of Fame ceremony.

Named after Tim Russert, a journalist and lawyer remembered for his 16 years as moderator of NBC’s “Meet the Press,” this award is presented annually to a student who demonstrates has a bright future in the media.

“I wish Mr. Russert could have met [Joana]. He would have been so impressed with his accomplishments to date! Deborah Silverman, president and associate professor of communications at SUNY Buffalo State College, wrote in an email.

The 2021 Hall of Fame ceremony also marked the 25th anniversary of the Buffalo Broadcasters Association.

The mission of the Buffalo Broadcasters Association is to preserve the history of broadcasting in Buffalo and to “encourage quality broadcasting” in the future by hosting conferences, public events, hosting student mentors and recognizing excellence in broadcasting.

The Buffalo Broadcasters Association maintains a close relationship with the communications department at SUNY Buffalo State College.

The most recent collaboration between the Buffalo Broadcasting Association and the Buffalo State College Department of Communication is “Broadcasting Buffalo,” a television series, which gives students a real-world experience working with professionals to create a program to broadcast at the local television.

Patrick Ryan of SUNY in Fredonia, who studied politics and journalism, was also recognized for his achievements and also received the Tim Russert Media Career Award.

In attendance were distinguished guests including Buffalo State College President Dr. Conway-Turner, actor William Fichtner and Mayor Byron Brown.

Source link

About Selena J. Killeen

Check Also

Vikings vs. 49ers live stream: how to watch Sunday’s NFL game on FOX via live broadcast

FOX will broadcast the NFL game between the Minnesota Vikings and the San Francisco 49ers …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *